Soon, you’ll have 10 minutes to ‘unsend’ a Facebook message
AFP Relaxnews
November 8, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Soon you’ll be able to delete your Facebook Messenger messages. Image: AFP/Gerard Julien via AFP Relaxnews

Made a typo? Realized you’re wrong? Said something embarrassing? Don’t worry, you can unsend that Facebook message, but you better be fast!

Under the “What’s New” section of the 191.0 version of Messenger in the Apple App Store, you’ll find a “coming soon” section which outlines a long overdue feature that’s on its way:

“Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”

You’ll have to notice the mistake pretty quickly if you want it erased from the digital world; but nevertheless, it’s possible now. This time limit does seem surprisingly short, however, considering that the company gives WhatsApp users up to an hour to unsend that embarrassing photo.

The option was first announced in April, followed by testing later in October. When the 191.0 version of Messenger is released, another option will appear for 10 minutes above “Delete Message” when editing messages in a conversation: “Unsend Message.” If you miss that deadline, though, you’re out of luck. JB

RELATED STORIES:

Facebook opens first pop-up stores in US

Facebook might allow users to unsend messages

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

View Comments